Last night’s tea- carb free Chinese noodles

I love noodles and I love Chinese flavours however at the moment I’m trying to eat more fruit and vegetables.

I saw this dressing and thought it might work well in a noodle type dish. Anyone who knows me knows I’m not exactly fond of following instructions (or coriander) so I just used that as a guide for the flavours.

My boyfriend bought me a spiralizer last Christmas (following a not so subtle hint of “buy me that”) and I’ve been obsessed ever since. Courgette noodles are ridiculously easy and basically have the same texture as normal noodles.  So…using the sprializer and a few simple ingredients I made this last night:

image

So what is it?

Ingredients (serves 2)
2 medium courgettes
1 medium carrot
Approx 170g turkey mince
3 chestnut mushrooms
2 garlic cloves minced
2 teaspoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
4 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons sesame seeds
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
2 small dried chillies (mine were about a cm long)
Teaspoon rice wine vinegar
2 sprinkles of crispy onions
Lime wedges (to serve)
Grind of salt
*

Method
1. Spiralize the courgettes and carrots. I used the smallest setting on mine. I was going to microwave the carrots as they can be a bit too raw for my taste when put in dishes right at the end but they turned out to be very wispy after spiralizing so I didn’t bother. Sprinkle your “noodles” with salt and place in a colander to try and extract some of the excess water from the courgettes.

2. Fry the mince, finely chopped chilli and half the garlic with a teaspoon of the sesame oil. Half way through add the mushrooms. Once cooked, remove any excess water or fat which has seeped out.

3. While the mince is cooking make the sauce. Mix together the honey, remaining sesame oil and garlic, sesame seeds, vinegar, soy sauce and onion powder.

4. Tip the noodles into the wok and give them a stir to soak up the flavours and leave to cook for a minute.

5. Add the sauce and stir. Leave to simmer for about 1-2 mins, really untill you’re happy with the consistency.

6. Plate up and serve with a wedge of lime, a grind of rock salt and some crispy onions (I buy a pot from the local Chinese supermarket and they last for ages and are great as a final addition to meals).

Et voila

The boyfriend was very happy and was very annoyed when there weren’t any seconds (to be fair there usually is with my meals), then demanded I make it again. I’ll take that as a good sign!

*I would have included onions in this dish but unfortunately we had ran out. When doing this again I would add them finely diced with the mushrooms.

I hope you like this as much as we did!

Jessica x x x

One thought on “Last night’s tea- carb free Chinese noodles

Leave a Reply

