Homemade turkey burgers

Spoiler…these burgers are fabulous!

I think I’ve said before about how I don’t like to buy beef mince so I won’t repeat myself but at the same time I love burgers! Like really love them.

I started making turkey burgers a few years ago now when I was bored of just eating the usual chilli and pasta with my mince. They’re so easy to make and so versatile with flavours. Here’s one I made earlier:

image

Ok you can’t see the burger very well so you’ll have to take my word for it…it was mouthwateringly delicious and the chips were probably the best I’ve made in quite a while. Here’s the recipe for the plate of food.

Ingredients-serves 2
2 good sized potatoes (think- just how hungry are you?)
2 brioche buns
180g(ish) turkey mince
1-2 tablespoons English mustard
1-2 teaspoons garlic powder
1-2 teaspoons onion granules
2 teaspoons salt
1 onion
Vegetable oil
Drizzle of balsamic vinegar
Various additions for your burger

Method
1. Wash and chop the potatoes into chip sizes. Feel free to peel then first but this is a lazy meal so I couldn’t be bothered, plus the skin has all the nutrients in the potato.

2. In a bowl pour in a good drizzle of oil together with the garlic, onion granules and salt. Adjust the quantities to something you’re happy with. Toss the chips in the flavoured oil and ensure all the chips are fully coated. Place on a baking tray and shove them in the oven at about 180 degrees (fan) for 20-25ish mins.

3. Meanwhile…prepare the burgers. Mix the mince with the mustard in a bowl. Now don’t be scared about using too much mustard here. I can’t have more than a a slight touch of english mustard on meat but in cooking it really mellows and you don’t get the heat…just the flavour. You’re looking to achieve a nice yellowish colour to the mince (bet no-one else has ever said that). Season with salt and pepper and shape into 2 patties.

4. Bake the burgers in the oven with the chips for around 10-15mins (if I remember correctly). I usually cut the boyfriends burger in the middle to check the juices run clear before serving.

5. Meanwhile….but near the end of the baking chop up the onion and fry with a little oil. Once it’s softened up add a splash of balsamic vinegar to the pan. at this stage do not lean over the pan or else you’ll be inhaling a load of vinegar fumes!

Et voila! Serve the best chips you’ll eat for a while and assemble the burger. My burger consisted of a mix of tomato sauce and French mustard, burger, cheese slice (sacrilege I know, the boyfriend had actual cheese) fried onions and the all important brioche bun. It was heaven on a plate!

Try it and let me know what you think, you won’t be sorry.

Jessica x x x

3 thoughts on “Homemade turkey burgers

Leave a Reply

