Freezer food

With my old job towards the end I was arriving late and leaving early. With my new job I arrive early and leave late. Sometimes very late, other times just late enough to make me too tired to go and cook a meal from scratch.

So for the last couple of months I haven’t been eating as well as I used to. I decided I had to do something about this. Last weekend I did an online shop and bought loads! I even got some of those metal takeaway containers for ease and lack of appropriate Tupperware. I think the boyfriend was a bit confused when he took in the shopping!

I made:
– beef and ale stew with lentils (3 portions)
– Mexican bean stew (3 portions)
– fake cassoulet (5 portions)
– lasagna with leek sheets (4 portions)

Here’s a few shots pre-cooking. Unfortunately I got stressed/tired and forgot to take any more:

image

Fake cassoulet

image

Beef and ale stew with lentils (lentils not included in the photo)

I was going to make chilli as well but realised I already have masses in the freezer from when I continuously make too much.

We had to do a bit of a re-jig in the freezer to make sure it all fit but afterwards it felt awesome to know that I can have good homemade food when I want and with very little effort. I can either defrost them ready for cooking or just bung them in the oven frozen on a low heat.

They’ve already come in really handy. The boyfriend had a leek lasagna when I went out for drinks and food with the girls (and I know he is eyeing up the other single portion) and last night we ordered a takeaway using justeat, then half an hour later received an email saying that our order had been cancelled as the takeaway was closed. I was so annoyed as I was looking forward to tasty fuss free food so we just put a Mexican bean stew in the oven and made some homemade chips in the oven. Although it wasn’t the Chinese I was craving I didn’t feel bloated afterwards and saved us a bit of money!

Let me know if you want to see any of the recipes for the meals above, I’ll cook the meal again and make sure to take more photos/notes.

What’s your favourite food to cook for the freezer, I’m already getting ideas together for my next big cook.

Jessica x x x

5 thoughts on “Freezer food

  1. I really like crockpot freezer meals! If you know you’re going to be back late you can just thaw it over night in the fridge, dump it in the crockpot, and let it cook while you’re gone all day…and when you get home, food is ready! πŸ™‚ These sound really yummy, I’d be interested in seeing the recipes you used. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks! I do have a slow cooker but i literally run for my bus every day in the morning so its just not a feasible option for me. Defo not a morning person lol.
      I’ll see what i can this week about the recipes, I don’t really follow recipes and just throw things in together what I like x

      Like

      • I do the same most of the time. Since I started doing my food blog, I’ve kept better notes. πŸ™‚ It’s ok if you don’t have recipe’s written down, I’ve got plenty to try already. πŸ™‚

        Like

    • Oh the leek sheets are simple. Just carefully make a slit down the side of a leek and peel off a layer. You should get a “sheet” about the same size as a regular pasta sheet. Just blanch it in boiling water for a minute and use as like you would pasta. It adds extra taste and can barely tell the difference xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

