It’s a Mario!

The boyfriend loves his games and for our anniversary I thought what better a time than to put my recent love for stitching cartoons to use. I googled some pictures of the retro video game super Mario (incidentally one of the games I like) and put together a design.

Here’s some pictures:

image

image

image

Me favourite bits are the cloud and the plant! The proportions are probably well off but where would the fun and homemade style be if it were perfect?

I wrote something very cheesy in it like ‘you won my heart years ago’. It made him laugh and it makes me smile. It’s still up on our bookcase 1 month later.

It was my birthday on Friday and he actually decides to reciprocate and stitch me a card for once:

image

I think he got the pattern off Google images and unfortunately he wouldn’t show me so I can’t give credit. Please let me know if you know whose it is.

Don’t tell him but I’m a bit annoyed at how well it turned out, it’s his first (and last) go at making one. OK so some of the stitching changes direction but you can barely tell. I think he can stick to his programming thank you very much!

Has anyone else’s partner had a go at your favourite hobby? Did you secretly hate them as well?

Jessica x x x

10 thoughts on “It’s a Mario!

  1. Oh wow, he did really well. Jan has never tried cross stitching, but I suspect if he did he would instantly be better than me! I hope he sticks to his own hobbies 😉

    Your card is amazing too though. I love the plant!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I am also very impressed with your boyfriends attempt, when mine gets home he’ll be seeing this post & given a few strong hints about what I want for my Birthday now haha!
    I have always wanted to make my own cross stitch design & never been brave enough! You have certainly given me food for thought about braving it soon- Well done again!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awe, what a sweet gesture that he took up your hobby to make something for you! My hubby says that cross stitching is far too finicky so I have no fear of him trying it out and doing better than me… ha ha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

