I’m all tapas’d out

I am stuffed! I literally could not eat another mouthfull! OK give me a few moments and I’m sure I could try and swallow a few more morsals.

I started the day wanting croquettes, I finished the day having made a tapas feast:

image

So that would be:
– spicy cheese croquettes
– cheese croquettes
– potatoes bravas
– garlic mushrooms
– marinated anchovies

Ok so all I did with the anchovies was put them on a plate in a pretty pattern but I made the rest as follows:

Croquettes
Take 3 potatoes, peel, chop and place in salted boiling water. Boil until tender. Put the potatoes through a ricer to make the smoothest mash you will ever have. Combine with a spoonful of butter. Split the mixture in half.

Mix a handful of grated mexicana cheese to one half and a handful of mature chedder to the other. Combine and roll into sausage patties.

Roll in flour, dip in milk and roll in breadcrumbs. Place on a baking tray and bake for 20-25 mins in a preheated oven.

Ta daaaa

Potato bravas
Take 3 potatoes, peel chop and boil in salted water until tender. Preheat some oil in a baking tray in the oven, toss in the drained potato chunks and fully coat the potato in oil. Crack over some salt.
Bake in the over for 30-40 mins turning often.

Meanwhile make the sauce. I chopped up 3 tomatoes, smashed 2 garlic cloves and placed on a low heat in a frying pan. Added a sprinkle of chilli flakes, smoked paprika, paprika and oregano. Stirred in a tablespoon of tomato puree and about half a cup of water. Simmered gently until it reached the desired consistency.

Take out the potatoes, pour over the sauce and voila!

Chorizo in cider

Well this was easier than making my accompanying gin and tonic!

Chop up the desired amount of chorizo, pop in a pan with roughly chopped red onion and 2 smashed garlic cloves. Pour over a bottle of cider, bring to the boil then turn down the heat and let simmer for 30-40 mins.

Pour into a fancy bowl and then make out you’ve been slaving over a hot stove for hours!

Garlic mushrooms
3 steps:
1- chop up mushrooms
2- melt garlic butter in a pan
3- put the mushrooms in with the garlic, and keep turning them while on the heat to ensure fully coated with butter

Here’s a close up of my plate full to the brim:

image

Delicious! Definitely going to do this again, let me know if you have any other tapas recipes I can try!

Jessica x x x

Leave a Reply

